Occasionally I want to post things from my classes which I feel Christians in general should know. While doing my reading for Thursday’s Covenant Theology class I came across the following:

Christians are required to take the world “as” the world that Scripture portrays, to indulge in an imaginative shift that transforms the way the world looks and the ways in which, as Christians, we live in it. Without the space here to develop this claim, I would suggest that this is precisely what Christian identity are all about. The world of the biblical writers “becomes” our world in some indentifiable sense. Or, put differently, we discover that it was our world all along. (Hart, 197)

This is a very important concept for Christians to get. One of the reasons reading the Bible holistically and consistently is so crucial is because it transforms how we look at the world. In the natural, we understand the world based on our experiences and what others have told us. When we come to Scripture as God’s version of the way things are, our natural view of the world gets challenged. Our views slowly undergo an “imaginative shift” from the natural to the Biblical that changes how we see the world and how we live in it.

Now it’s time for me to write my inerrancy paper and study for my Hebrew quiz tomorrow. Ani, attah, at, hu), he(…

Citation
Trevor Hart. Between Two Horizons: Spanning New Testament Studies & Systematic Theology. ed. Joel Green. Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. 1999

