Tags

, ,

John 14:17 even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be in you.

John 14:23 Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.

This morning’s Greek reading was John chapter 14. When I read John 14:23 I’m always struck by how conditional the Father’s love seems in this verse, but I don’t want to go there right now. The main thing that popped out at me was how all three persons of the Trinity dwell with us.

In verse 17 Jesus says that the Holy Spirit “dwells para (beside, in the presence of, with) you and will be en (in) you.” In verse 23 Jesus says that for the person who loves God “we (Jesus and the Father) will come to him and we will make our abode para (beside, in the presence of, with) him.” It’s wrong to press this verse and say that while the Holy Spirit lives inside us the Father and Jesus simply live somewhere close to us. The encouragement I get from this is that God is both in us and around us all the time. Normally we think of the Holy Spirit dwelling in us and Jesus and the Father being up in heaven, wherever that is exactly. What we see here is that it’s more than the Holy Spirit, as ridiculously amazing as that is; all three persons of the trinity make their home with us!!

