Tags

Below is a fascinating account of the Cane Ridge Revival by Samuel B. Finley that was presented in my history class:

“The vast sea of human beings seemed to be agitated as if by a storm. I counted seven ministers all preaching at one time, some on stumps, others on wagons, and one in a tree. . . . Some of the people were singing, others praying, some crying for mercy in the most piteous accents. . . . While witnessing these scenes a peculiarly strange sensation, such as I had never felt before, came over me, and I felt as though I must fall to the ground. . . . I left and went into the woods, and there I strove to rally and man up my courage. After some time I returned . . . and stepped up onto a log where I could have a better view. The scene that then presented itself to my mind was indescribable. At one time I saw at least 500 swept down in a moment, as if a battery of a thousand guns had opened upon them, and then immediately followed shrieks and shouts that rent the very heavens. . . . I fled for the woods a second time.”

Amazing how similar that is to some Charismatic/Pentecostal meetings I’ve seen or been in. God doesn’t change does he.

