My wife, Aja, was asked this morning who my favorite scholar is, and couldn’t answer. So that she doesn’t forget, and since it doesn’t require much thought, I’m writing a quick list of my top three.

My favorite scholar generally is Michael Bird. Bird has one of the best Christian blogs out there, which can be found here. Basically, I like Dr. Bird because he is almost always right, meaning I agree with what he says. That is unless he is writing about politics, in which case his opinions are disastrous (I mean that in the most tongue in cheek way possible).

My favorite Pentecostal scholar is Max Turner. Unfortunately, he has written far more journal articles than books, and appears to be semi-retired. But his The Holy Spirit and Spiritual Gifts: In the New Testament Church and Today is one of the best Pentecostal resources out there, and should be on the shelf of every Christian with at least one functioning lung. His Linguistics & Biblical Interpretation is an important book for learning how to read the Bible well, but it is fairly technical.

My third favorite is Jack Collins. He is the OT editor of the ESV, and fortunately for me, my Hebrew and Psalms & Wisdom Professor. He is one of my favorites because he is such a good example of scholarship seeking to strengthen the church and done out of reverence for the Lord. He gives me an example to aim for scholarly as he literally knows the Bible backwards and forwards (there may be a Hebrew pun in there somewhere). His Did Adam and Eve Really Exist?: Who They Were and Why You Should Care and Genesis 1-4: A Linguistic, Literary, and Theological Commentary are definitely worth checking out, or rather buying as he has a son in college.

