Tags

,

Believe it or not I haven’t abandoned this blog. I’m just a bit swamped as graduation is in 3 weeks. I’ve been wanting to write a post about seminary for some time, but things are too busy at the moment. I may not have time to write, but I can at least recommend worthwhile resources. Today, I listened to a message that I found particularly helpful. In it, Mike Bickle gives a brief history of revival in America over the last hundred or so years and then suggests how to navigate revival wisely. Here are some takeaways:

1. Historically, revivals only last 2 to 3 years. Revivals, by definition, are by God’s sovereign initiative so don’t blame people when the intensity lifts.

2. The people God uses in revival are always flawed. Don’t expect them to be perfect. God’s using them doesn’t mean they are perfect; it simply means God is using them. Accepting that God uses weak people for his ends will prevent you from rejecting what God is doing based on the vessel.

There are several other good points, but the two above are issues that have repeatedly come up in my Christian experience.

